Sixty-Second Theodicy by Stand to Reason

By Greg Koukl

How to respond to the problem of evil, neatly and quickly.

In about four weeks I’m going to fly out to the East coast for a day.   Apparently I’m taking the “red eye” out at night, getting into Raleigh, North  Carolina in the morning, resting for a couple of hours, going onto a secular  radio broadcast that is one of the most popular in the state, then I climb on  an airplane and fly back on the “red eye” in return.  All of this for this one  hour interview.  I’ll tell you something.  When I found out that I would be  doing this, I got a little nervous.  You want to know why I get nervous doing  a radio interview?  It’s not because radio bothers me, or talking to people  bothers me.  I do radio all the time, every week, six hours worth.  So it’s  not radio, per se, that bothers me.  But when I have my own radio show, or  even when I do something like Religion on the Line, we have a fairly  non-hostile environment towards religion.  Oh, I occasionally get people that  are hostile towards me and my points of view.  But at least I have the hope of  having a reasonable conversation with somebody, going slowly through an issue,  step by step, controlling the process a little bit.  Not necessarily  controlling the person in an inappropriate way, but I have confidence that I  will have the time I need to get down to the real issue.

You know when you’ve talked to other people who want to challenge you about  your points of view, when you don’t have control sometimes  they steamroll  you.  They go right over top of you.  Before you can answer the first  question, they’re at you with another one.  Just suggesting the answer,  they’ve already found exceptions to it and they jump in and don’t let you lay  a foundation to answer the question.  The fact of the matter is, it’s much  easier to ask the difficult question than it is to listen to the difficult  answer.  When you talk about spiritual truth and the problems attended to it,  you are talking about the most critically important issues imaginable and  you’re also talking about some very complex issues.  Issues that don’t lend  themselves to a thirty second sound bite.  But, sometimes thirty seconds is all you’ve  got.

To read on, click here:

One thought on “Sixty-Second Theodicy by Stand to Reason

  1. Ed Atkinson September 29, 2014 / 8:02 pm

    Well done Greg Koukl, I’m impressed!

Leave a Reply

